Noble laureate, Turing Award winner become CAS academicians

Chen Ning Yang (left) and Turing Award winner Chi-Chih Yao

Noble laureate Chen Ning Yang and Turing Award winner Chi-Chih Yao have been officially named as full academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), after the two scientists gave up their American citizenship in 2016, the Xinhua News Agency reported on Tuesday.

The appointment of Yang, a Chinese physicist working on statistical mechanics and particle physics, and Yao, a Chinese computer scientist and computational theorist, is in accordance with the CAS' related regulations on selecting eligible academicians to enhance the national think tank's global influence, said Xinhua.

According to the regulations, Yang and Yao will join the division of mathematics and physics and the division of information technical sciences respectively.

Currently, the CAS has 754 full academicians and 78 foreign academicians.

As the inventor of the Yang-Mills theory and the Yang-Baxter equation, Yang and Tsung-dao Lee were awarded with the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1957 for their remarkable work on parity non-conservation of weak interaction.

Yao, who has made great achievements in communication complexity, modern cryptography and quantum computing, received the Turing Award, the world's most prestigious award in computer science, in 2000.

Related Stories
Share this page
Touched Sympathetic Bored Angry Amused Sad Happy No comment